First experience of visit a Japanese home

28平成年9月18日 京都

It was on a rainy Sunday at Kyoto. That was my weekend and I’d decided since the date before that Sunday that I should come over Misasagi international house and meet the staffs there again to show them my gratitudes for their kindly treating me at the time I stayed there since very first days in Kyoto.

On Saturday, the date before that Sunday, I prepared some small “omiyage” (souvenir) for Misasagi staffs as three sticks of coffee and a message on a note along with. I woke up late on the date after, around 11 AM, then made a big bowl of noodle and cabbage leaves for a break-lunch meal. I put the raincoat on my body and rode my bike from home to Misasagi house.

Oh! a memory of the longgg ridings twice a day from Misasaga to Kyoto University turned back, it was so vivid. I still remembered first days in Misasagi, every day, I had to ride a bicycle 7 km for around 40 min from it to school. It took that much of time because a road to school is not simple and leveling as roads in the southern region of Vietnam, but much tougher with a hill on it. But there’s a segment, a point is more exactly, I love the most which is under an overpass bridge that I could be covered whenever it rains and more especially, it is the point that almost on the top of the hill, so after reaching the point from any side, then you would enjoy the rest of the road by downing hill. 🙂 Be careful, though!

Yeah! I spent nearly an hour to reach the dormitory. Of course it was because it has been a long time I didn’t ride a bike to hills like that. And it also rained at that time. Just drizzling but still enough to make me wet. Finally, I’d reached the destination at 14:20PM.

I met an old men officer over there – Mr. Mihara, or we often call Mihara-san in Japanese culture. He is a very kind person. Remember my last day in Misasagi, he kindly gave me a studying lamp equipped with a touching sensor on its switch for my new apartment, it still works very well now. Alright, back to my story,  we had a small talk about relevant stories and things about my life in Japan as well as students in Misasagi house. He asked me that have I ever gone to the hot spring (onsen in Japanese) in Japan. “No, I haven’t” quickly and honestly replied I. I even haven’t looked for this kind of concept of “onsen” on the internet yet, I just heard from some of my friends that we must be naked when we take a shower at hot spring centre. It would be a little bit shy I guess. Then I gave him one of my souvenirs that I prepared previously, I also left four other small bags of there for other staffs of the dormitory. And suddenly, “are you gonna be free today, I would like to invite you to come over my home and why don’t we go to the hot spring and try today as well?” he smiled and asked me. I was a bit surprised and confused at that time, I didn’t know how to answer his question as well as his invitations to visit his home and hot spring since I’d been already supposed to play soccer with my native friends in river Kamo’s bank for the farewell to a friend of us who will leave Japan soon. But then I realised that being with talkative and selfish native people like them would be frustrating and bother me rather than visiting a Japanese family and also because Mihara-san is very honest and friendly, so I couldn’t say no and decided to visit his home after that.

Afterwards,

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

